The Named Awards Committee of the MME Division is seeking nominations for the Barry Sherman Teaching Award, which recognizes excellence and innovation in the teaching of media management and economics.

Any division member is eligible for the award but may not nominate himself or herself.

Nominations must be sent to Immediate Past Head Kenneth C. Killebrew by May 1, 2014. Nominees will be contacted and asked to submit supporting material by May 26. Supporting materials will include:

  • Syllabi from one or two courses (graduate or undergraduate) devoted primarily to media management or economics.
  • Up to three examples of supporting instructional materials in media management or economics. The supporting materials should demonstrate evidence of teaching excellence or innovation.

The award honors the memory of Barry Sherman, who was Lambdin Kay Professor in the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Georgia at the time of his death in 2000. He served as director of the prestigious Peabody Awards from 1991-2000. During his 19 years at Georgia, the university honored Sherman twice for teaching excellence. In 1995, the International Radio and Television Society Foundation named him a Stanton Fellow for his “outstanding contribution to electronic media education.”

The winner of the award will be notified before the AEJMC annual convention in Washington, DC, in August 2014, and the award will be presented at the Media Management and Economics Division’s annual Members’ Meeting.

Please send nominations in hard copy or by email. Supporting documents/materials must be sent in hard copy form only, by US Postal Service, to:

Kenneth C. Killebrew, Ph.D.
Immediate Past Head, MME Division
2118 Rensselaer Drive
Wesley Chapel, FL 33543
813 333-4156
Email: or