The MME Division is seeking nominations for the Robert Picard Award, for 2014, to honor the author(s) of a book or a monograph published during the previous year (2013) that makes a significant contribution to the field of media management and economics.

The Division’s Named Awards Committee selects the winner. Nominations must be submitted by May 1, 2014, to Immediate Past Head Kenneth Killebrew.  Each nominated book must specify why the book or work is outstanding (outside reviewer statements will be considered along with nominator statements).

The award is named in honor of Division member and senior scholar Robert Picard of Oxford University. Past winners include: Mark Deuze’s 2011 book, Managing Media Work (2010 imprint) and George Sylvie’s 2013 work (2012 imprint), Newsroom Decision-Making: Under New Management. There was no winner in 2012 (2011 imprint).

AEJMC members are invited to nominate books or monographs for the award. Self-nominations are acceptable. To nominate a work provide the following:

*A written nomination with a complete citation (title, author, publisher, and year of publication of the book) and a short statement on the book’s contribution to the field of media management and economics. (nomination may be emailed, all other materials must be sent postal service or ground delivery service)
*Three copies of the work, whether book or monograph.

The winners of the awards will be notified before the AEJMC annual convention in Washington, D.C., in August 2013, and the awards will be presented at the Media Management and Economics Division’s annual Members’ Meeting.

Please mail nomination packets to:

Ken Killebrew, Ph.D.
Immediate Past Head, MME Division
2118 Rensselaer Drive
Wesley Chapel, FL  33543
Phone: 813 333-4156
Email: or