MMEE Division call for nominees for 2015 PF&R Award

The Named Awards Committee of the MMEE Division is seeking nominations for the Division’s Professional Freedom and Responsibility Award, which recognizes excellence in the promotion of free expression; ethics; media criticism and accountability; racial, gender, and cultural inclusiveness; and public service, as it pertains to media management, economics, and entrepreneurship (Note: these are the five PF&R areas recognized by AEJMC). The award is open to any person or institution, professional or academic that makes significant contributions to public advocacy for or has by their actions encouraged management practices that promote excellence in any of the five areas. The award recognizes actions by working management professionals, research, teaching or service activities, or any other relevant work.

The award may be granted to significant contributions made in the preceding year or over a lifetime, at the discretion of the Named Awards Committee. If the nominee is a not a member of the MME Division, preference will be given to nominees from the region of each year’s annual convention. At its discretion, the Named Awards Committee may choose not to make a PF&R award in any year, if no suitable nominee is put forward. Self-nominations are not accepted for the PF&R award.

Nominations, along with any available supporting material, must be received (via mail or email), by the Division’s Immediate Past Head, Bozena Mierzejewska by the deadline of May 1, 2015. In addition to materials supplied by nominators, nominees might also be contacted and asked to submit supporting any material as quickly as possible after that date. Supporting materials may include, but are not limited to documents and texts pertaining to research, media advocacy or expert testimony, media coverage, and peer acknowledgment.

The winner of the award will be notified well before this year’s AEJMC annual conference in San Francisco, and the award will be presented at MME Division’s Members’ Meeting during the conference.

Please nominations by email to: bmierzejewska@fordham.edu

Or by post to:
Bozena Mierzejewska, Ph.D.
Immediate Past Head /Named Awards Committee Chair
Fordham University
Gabelli School of Business
113 W 60th Street, 6th Floor
New York, NY 10023