The Named Awards Committee of the MME Division is seeking nominations for the Barry Sherman Teaching Award, which recognizes excellence and innovation in the teaching of media management, economics, and entrepreneurship.

Any division member is eligible for the award but may not nominate himself or herself.

Nominations must be sent to Immediate Past Bozena Mierzejewska by May 1, 2015. Nominees will be contacted and asked to submit supporting material by May 26. Supporting materials will include:

  • Syllabi from one or two courses (graduate or undergraduate) devoted primarily to media management, economics or media entrepreneurship.
  • Up to three examples of supporting instructional materials in media management or economics. The supporting materials should demonstrate evidence of teaching excellence or innovation.

The award honors the memory of Barry Sherman, who was Lambdin Kay Professor in the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Georgia at the time of his death in 2000. He served as director of the prestigious Peabody Awards from 1991-2000. During his 19 years at Georgia, the university honored Sherman twice for teaching excellence. In 1995, the International Radio and Television Society Foundation named him a Stanton Fellow for his “outstanding contribution to electronic media education.”

The winner of the award will be notified before the AEJMC annual convention in San Francisco, in August 2015, and the award will be presented at the Media Management and Economics Division’s annual Members’ Meeting.

Please nominations by email to: bmierzejewska@fordham.edu

Or by post to:
Bozena Mierzejewska, Ph.D.
Immediate Past Head /Named Awards Committee Chair
Fordham University
Gabelli School of Business
113 W 60th Street, 6th Floor
New York, NY 10023