Do you know of an individual or institution that deserves to be recognized for their efforts in the promotion of professional freedom and responsibility? Is there a company or organization in the Minneapolis area that you think deserves recognition at our annual conference in August?
The Media Management, Economics & Entrepreneurship (MMEE) division of AEJMC is seeking nominations for the division’s Professional Freedom and Responsibility Award (PF&R).
The PF&R award recognizes excellence in the promotion of free expression; ethics; media criticism and accountability; racial, gender, and cultural inclusiveness; and public service, as it pertains to media management, economics, and entrepreneurship. The award is open to any person or institution, professional or academic that makes significant contributions to public advocacy for or has by their actions encouraged management practices that promote excellence in any of these five areas. The award recognizes actions by working management professionals, research, teaching or service activities, or any other relevant work.
The division is particularly interested in nominations of people or institutions with connections to Minneapolis, the host city of the 2016 annual conference, where the award will be presented.
The award may be granted to significant contributions made in the preceding year or over a lifetime, at the discretion of the Named Awards Committee. If the nominee is a not a member of the MME Division, preference will be given to nominees from the region of each year’s annual convention. At its discretion, the Named Awards Committee may choose not to make a PF&R award in any year, if no suitable nominee is put forward. Self-nominations are not accepted for the PF&R award.
Nominations, along with any available supporting material, must be received (via mail or email), by the Division’s Immediate Past Head, Charlene Simmons by the deadline of May 1, 2016. In addition to materials supplied by nominators, nominees might also be contacted and asked to submit supporting any material as quickly as possible after that date. Supporting materials may include, but are not limited to documents and texts pertaining to research, media advocacy or expert testimony, media coverage, and peer acknowledgment.
The winner of the award will be notified well before this year’s AEJMC annual conference in Minneapolis, and the award will be presented at MMEE Division’s Members’ Meeting during the conference.
Please send nominations by email to
Or by post to:
Charlene-Simmons, Ph.D.
Department of Communication
University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
615 McCallie Ave, Dept 3003
Chattanooga, TN 37403-2598