It’s time to nominate an excellent teacher of media management, economics, or entrepreneurship for the Barry Sherman Teaching Award.
The Media Management, Economics & Entrepreneurship (MMEE) division of AEJMC is seeking nominations for the Barry Sherman Teaching Award. The award recognizes excellence and innovation in the teaching of media management, economics, or entrepreneurship.
Any division member is eligible for the award but may not nominate himself or herself.
Nominations must be sent to Immediate Past Charlene Simmons by May 1, 2016. Nominees will be contacted and asked to submit supporting material by May 26. Supporting materials will include:
  • Syllabi from one or two courses (graduate or undergraduate) devoted primarily to media management, media economics, or media entrepreneurship.
  • Up to three examples of supporting instructional materials in media management, economics, or entrepreneurship. The supporting materials should demonstrate evidence of teaching excellence or innovation.
The award honors the memory of Barry Sherman, who was Lambdin Kay Professor in the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Georgia at the time of his death in 2000. He served as director of the prestigious Peabody Awards from 1991-2000. During his 19 years at Georgia, the university honored Sherman twice for teaching excellence. In 1995, the International Radio and Television Society Foundation named him a Stanton Fellow for his “outstanding contribution to electronic media education.”
The winner of the award will be notified before the AEJMC annual convention in Minneapolis, in August 2016, and the award will be presented at the Media Management, Economics and Entrepreneurship Division’s annual members’ meeting.
Please send nominations by email to
Or by post to:
Charlene-Simmons, Ph.D.
Department of Communication
University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
615 McCallie Ave, Dept 3003
Chattanooga, TN 37403-2598