AEJMC-Logo-smallThe Media Management, Economics & Entrepreneurship (MMEE) division of AEJMC is now seeking nominations for the Barry Sherman Teaching Award. This award recognizes excellence and innovation in the teaching of media management, economics, or entrepreneurship. Any division member is eligible for the award but may not nominate himself or herself. Nominations must be sent to Immediate Past Chair Amy Jo Coffey by May 1, 2017. Nominees will be contacted and asked to submit supporting material by May 26. Supporting materials will include:
  • Syllabi from one or two courses (graduate or undergraduate) devoted primarily to media management, media economics, or media entrepreneurship.
  • Up to three examples of supporting instructional materials in media management, economics, or entrepreneurship. The supporting materials should demonstrate evidence of teaching excellence or innovation.

The award honors the memory of Barry Sherman, who was Lambdin Kay Professor in the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Georgia at the time of his death in 2000. He served as director of the prestigious Peabody Awards from 1991-2000. During his 19 years at Georgia, the university honored Sherman twice for teaching excellence. In 1995, the International Radio and Television Society Foundation named him a Stanton Fellow for his “outstanding contribution to electronic media education.” The winner of the award will be notified before the AEJMC annual convention in Chicago in August 2017, and the award will be presented at the Media Management, Economics and Entrepreneurship Division’s annual members’ meeting.
Please send nominations by email to
Or by post to:
Amy Jo Coffey, Ph.D.
College of Journalism and Communications
University of Florida
P.O. 118400
Gainesville, FL 32611-8400