Know an outstanding teacher in Media Management, Economics and Entrepreneurship? How about an individual or organization promoting professional freedom and responsibility? We’d like to honor and recognize both in Toronto. The division is currently accepting nominations for the following awards:

Barry Sherman Teaching Award

The Media Management, Economics & Entrepreneurship (MMEE) division of AEJMC is now seeking nominations for the Barry Sherman Teaching Award. This award recognizes excellence and innovation in the teaching of media management, economics, or entrepreneurship. Any division member is eligible for the award but may not nominate himself or herself. Please send nominations to Immediate Past Chair Geoffrey Graybeal by March 18, 2019. Nominees will be contacted and asked to submit supporting material. Supporting materials will include:

  • Syllabi from one or two courses (graduate or undergraduate) devoted primarily to media management, media economics, or media entrepreneurship.
  • Up to three examples of supporting instructional materials in media management, economics, or entrepreneurship. The supporting materials should demonstrate evidence of teaching excellence or innovation.

The award honors the memory of Barry Sherman, who was Lambdin Kay Professor in the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Georgia at the time of his death in 2000. He served as director of the prestigious Peabody Awards from 1991-2000. During his 19 years at Georgia, the university honored Sherman twice for teaching excellence. In 1995, the International Radio and Television Society Foundation named him a Stanton Fellow for his “outstanding contribution to electronic media education.” The winner of the award will be notified before the AEJMC annual convention in Toronto in August 2019, and the award will be presented at the Media Management, Economics and Entrepreneurship Division’s annual members’ meeting. Please send nominations by e-mail to

Professional Freedom and Responsibility Award 

The Media Management, Economics & Entrepreneurship (MMEE) division of AEJMC is seeking nominations for the division’s Professional Freedom and Responsibility Award (PF&R).
The PF&R award recognizes excellence in the promotion of free expression; ethics; media criticism and accountability; racial, gender, and cultural inclusiveness; and public service, as it pertains to media management, economics, and entrepreneurship. The award is open to any person or institution–professional or academic–that makes significant contributions to public advocacy or has by their actions encouraged management practices that promote excellence in any of these five areas. The award recognizes actions by working management professionals, research, teaching or service activities, or any other relevant work.
The award may be granted to significant contributions made in the preceding year or over a lifetime, at the discretion of the Named Awards Committee. If the nominee is a not a member of the MMEE Division, preference will be given to nominees from the region of each year’s annual convention. At its discretion, the Named Awards Committee may choose not to make a PF&R award in any year, if no suitable nominee is put forward. Self-nominations are not accepted for the PF&R award. Past recipients include The Cable Center ;and Aaron Kushner and Eric Spitz, then CEO and President of Freedom Communications.

Please pass along nominations, along with any available supporting material, to the Division’s Immediate Past Head, Geoffrey Graybeal, by the deadline of March 18, 2019. In addition to materials supplied by nominators, nominees might also be contacted and asked to submit supporting any material as quickly as possible after that date. Supporting materials may include, but are not limited to documents and texts pertaining to research, media advocacy or expert testimony, media coverage, and peer acknowledgment. The winner of the award will be notified well before this year’s AEJMC annual conference in Toronto, and the award will be presented at MMEE Division’s Members’ Meeting during the conference.

Please send nominations by e-mail to

Questions about either award may be directed to Geoffrey Graybeal via email at ggraybeal@gsu.eduor via phone at 404-413-7913.